How do we look at the Sun?

12 February 2007

Here’s a very interesting (though as Elle agreed at lunch today, pretty rich and Western-centric) way to view the sunset. I think I got there from the web page of the Athanasius Kircher Society, but if not, it is right up their alley. Haven’t heard of Athanasius Kircher? Neither had I, until today.

Anyway, the ‘viewing the Sun mediated by technology,’ stuff above made the artificial window seem even more ridiculous than it really is. And yet, I too am a member of the society that moves farther and farther away from organic reality. As long as I can keep track of some of those I live vicariously through, though, I’m pacified.

Meanwhile, if you have a minute, this is pretty funny, and kind of profound, too.

Leave a Reply

